Brigade Roster

The Big Sur Volunteer Fire Brigade is made up of individuals dedicated to serving the Big Sur community.  Their service to the local community is at the highest level and has provided for an effective and efficient fire and rescue service serving not only the residents and businesses of Big Sur, but also the many visitors and guests that frequent the Big Sur area.


Administrative Personnel:

Tori Chesebrough-Buckles                                     Administrative Assistant

Jaci Pappas                                                         Bookkepper

Terry Hallock                                                        Grant Applications

Chris Smith                                                          Fire / Rescue Trainer


Board of Directors:

Frank Pinney

Victor Pavloff

Martha Karstens

Mary Trotter

Dick Ravich

Lana Weeks


Fire Chief:

Martha Karstens


Medical Captain:

Jeannie Alexander


Engine 7831:                                (Station #1)

Steve Graham                                   Captain

Marcus Foster                                   Lieutenant

Chris Bangham                                  Engineer

Rayner Marx                                      Engineer

Martine Palafox                                  Firefighter

Jim Betts                                           Firefighter

Trey Kropp                                         Firefighter

Fabian Perez                                      Firefighter

Wendy Waters                                   Firefighter

Shane Prince                                     Firefighter

Luke Perkins                                      Firefighter


Engine 7852:                                (Station #2)

Jon Knight                                         Captain

Jeff Carmichael                                   Engineer

James Barrow                                    Firefighter

Thomas Leahy                                   Firefighter


Engine 7854:                                 (Station #4)

Matt Harris                                         Captain

John Coombs                                     Medical / Rescue


Water Tenders Drivers:

Jess Mason

Jim Gray

Tevye Morgenrath

Hubbs Hubback